Daily Gamer: Hook

Ooh, that’s why I’m easy

Easy like Sunday morning

Sometimes, I’m fed up with all those big fancy games which require me to understand complex mechanics and read whole paragraphs of sublime English prose (I’m looking at you, Failbetter Games!). Sometimes, all I need is simple and calm gameplay to cool down my mind after a day of work. Fortunately for me, it seems that there are more people thinking this way. Two of them, Maciej Targoni and Wojciech Wasiak, created Hook.

20161113194810_1

This is how a proper opening screen should look like.

Basically, it reminds me of the mini-games encountered in large cRPG titles like System Shock or Skyrim. The goal on each level is to make the titular ‘hooks’ disappear. Each of them is connected to a power source by a wire and the player needs to guess the proper order, because two hooks touching each other means failure.

20160722215327_1

The gameplay gradually gets more complicated with each stage having more elements and occassionally adding new mechanics. Of course, you don’t need to have a degree in advanced mathematics or be a cryptologist working for the CIA, but later levels require some patience and careful thinking.The real-life equivalent would be untangling my MP3 player headphones after taking them out of my pocket, although Hook is decidedly less frustrating than that.

20160807194815_1

The current version has 50 levels and I think that everyone gifted with an average I.Q. can finish it in half an hour, but that’s not the point. Like a meal prepared by a master chef or a classical painting, it is meant to be savoured slowly. Who knows, maybe sometime in the future university textbooks will mention Hook as one of early examples of a video game becoming a true work of art?

The game is available on Steam for a very reasonable price.

Leave a Reply

