Shards of Glim: Docking Blues

Everyone who’s ever tried to play Sunless Sea will admit that the gameplay is far from thrilling. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy the writing and I agree that the writers deserve all the praise they receive for multiple plots, quests, characters, port encounters, etc. However, after an aspiring captain has gained some experience, boosted his stats and bought a decent ship with proper equipment, zailing becomes simply tedious. Even encounters with dangerous foes, like the Tree of Ages, don’t cause adrenaline rush anymore.

Now it seems that I’ve invented a way to break the monotony: Make Docking an Art!

20160402011459_1

Bah, you can do better, Capt’n!

Normally, arriving at a port is a trivial matter. There is always a large circle of light next to the port to put your vessel into, no matter in which position, and you don’t even need to stop the engines to make the docking procedure complete. My idea is to strive for perfection, trying to make it look semi-realistic by bringing the ship as close to the quay as possible, with its stern turned towards the port, and then calmly wait until it stops moving. Obviously, this requires some patience and, and in case of large vessels and powerful engines, nimble fingers to avoid hearing the painful sound of my beloved frigate hitting stone or concrete.

20160314005520_1

Perfect.

This may be the only self-appointed challenge I want to take while playing Sunless Sea. In truth, it cannot even be called a challenge, but it surely is a welcome change in the dull everyday life of an explorer of the Unterzee. Let’s just hope that the incoming DLC, Zubmarine, will introduce some improvements in-game mechanics to make zailing more colourful.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shards of Glim: Docking Blues

  1. Nice Post. Sunless Sea has been on my wishlist for forever. I should probably get it soon!

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered cross posting your stuff to our platform. If you don’t know much about us- we’re the sister site to MoviePilot.com, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) the exposure they deserve. Feel free to email me! tyler@nowloading.co

    Liked by 1 person

    • For me, Sunless Sea is one of the greatest games I’ve ever played and I fully recommend it to you. But why don’t you try its sister game Fallen London first? It’s a free browser game and it will introduce you to the incredible world of the Neath.

      P.S. I wrote you an e-mail.

      Like

Leave a Reply

