Fallout 3: The Net is Tightening

When I was starting my current ‘evil’ playthrough, I decided for a hopeless fight — not just against the Enclave and supermutants, but against the flawed game engine itself. It is a truism that Bethesda games are usually unstable, to say at least, or rather riddled with bugs like a Russian soldier’s trenchcoat, to put it in a blunt way. To make things even worse, the mods I installed, and it’s just a couple of them, make Fallout 3 even more prone to strange behaviour and sudden crashes. Therefore, to make things even more exciting and unpredictable, I started to avoid regular saving and relied on autosaves only. This makes it impossible to reverse things in case of encountering a crippling, game-crashing bug or glitch. There is an entire ‘philosophy’ behind this kind of approach which I explained in one of the old posts.

Recently, I’ve returned to F3 after a few months of vacation from the Capital Wasteland and its perils. Suddenly, it appears that I’m trapped in the Tenpenny Tower. When I attempt to enter my suite, the screen goes black and remains so without loading the new location, which means that now I’m cut off from my wonderful collection of unique guns and, what’s even worse, from my spare power armour, which I will definitely need to survive the trip north to the Little Lamplight and beyond it, into the supermutant stonghold located in the depths of Vault 87.

Tenpenny Tower

There’s only black void behind that door

The situation is getting worse with every step I take. When I use the nearby lift to go down into the main hall, I’m not even able to return upstairs. All this feels like having a noose on your neck, tightening with every breath, and it’s all too possible that I’ll have to abandon the game, since there are no old savegames to use a life saving throw. What if it’s the so-called karma, or rather metaphysical justice being served, and Hagen, my villain character, has to pay for the sins of his past? On the one hand, it would a damn shame to leave the game unfinished after hundreds of hours spent playing it, on the other hand, though, what a great story would it make! At some point, I stopped roleplaying as a heartless bastard, but before this heel turn many innocents had suffered at the hands of Hagen — a former slaver and bandit, personally responsible for the gigantic mushroom over the serene settlement of Megaton. Is it possible that, even after he abandoned the path of evil, the repent villain will be punished? I’ll know the answer soon.

Leave a Reply

